Protect Our Coast

Voting and serving in a public office are valued rights with responsibilities. While we won’t see all issues in exactly the same way, most would agree that elected officials should reflect the values and points of view of the majority of their  constituents. As citizens and organizations of Carteret County, our economic strength and quality of life are our highest priorities. Both depend upon a healthy ocean that surrounds and supports all that we value.
We have repeatedly asked the Carteret County Commissioners to stand with us, their community, their Governor, and over 190 other East Coast municipalities to send a unified message to Washington to oppose Atlantic seismic and drilling exploration.
Atlantic Beach, Beaufort, Cedar Point, Emerald Isle, Morehead City, Pine Knoll Shores, the Chamber of Commerce, and Tourism Development Authority have made formal resolutions opposing offshore seismic testing and drilling.
On May 21st we will ask the County Commissioners to endorse the resolution shown below.
Failing to support a resolution against seismic testing and drilling indicates their willingness to put all we have at risk.
If you agree that we need to protect our coast, please let them know – by phone, call, email, or in person at the BOC meeting on May 21. Website:
Please help protect our livelihoods and our way of life. Thank you!

Carteret County Concerned Citizens


WHEREAS, the Carteret County Board of Commissioners recognizes the appreciation of our natural coastal and historical habitat, as well as commercial and recreational fishing are critical economic and quality of life drivers for Carteret County; and
WHEREAS, the Carteret County Board of Commissioners acknowledges that tourism is the economic backbone of Carteret County and offshore drilling activities and the potential for oil spills on our coastline pose a significant threat to our thriving tourism and Carteret County tax base; and
WHEREAS, the Carteret County Board of Commissioners affirms that Carteret County endeavors to be a good steward of our coastal environment and its resources; and
WHEREAS, the Carteret County Board of Commissioners advocates residential, business and commercial development that is totally and fully compatible with our water-based economy to the benefit of international tourism and maritime interests along the Crystal Coast; and
WHEREAS, the economic sustainability of Carteret County is directly dependent on the healthy, natural beauty of our Crystal Coast beaches, a thriving marine environment that provides
sanctuary and nesting/breeding grounds for diverse groups of wildlife having ecological value, and sustains prime commercial/recreational fisheries; and
WHEREAS, there is no evidence that offshore drilling and testing will generate significant benefits to Carteret County or to the surrounding regions, nor has it been proven that this activity can be done safely without risking irrevocable harm to the environment and all forms of marine life, the North Carolina coastline, our property, our businesses, our livelihood, or our quality of life; and
WHEREAS, the reliance on oil and gas in everyday lives and our national security is waning even as production today surpasses previous records and alternative, renewable energy sources gain economic traction providing infinite, stable, ‘ fixed’ zero cost options; and
WHEREAS, it is vital that local and state officials throughout North Carolina and its neighboring states take a unified stand in opposition to off shore drilling and testing, as a mishap in one jurisdiction could negatively impact the coastal environment and economy of both local and adjacent areas.
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Carteret County Board of Commissioners expresses its opposition to offshore drilling including exploratory drilling and seismic testing and urges North Carolina, our neighboring states, and all federal agencies to take no action that would put our coastline at risk. Adopted, this the 21st day of May, 2018.



Carteret County Commissioners Contact Information

Name Title Email Phone
Smith, Bill Commissioner 252-223-3973
Mansfield, Mark Chairman 252-732-0875
Farrington, Jimmy Commissioner 252-723-0002
Robinson, Jonathan Commissioner 252-269-4970
Comer, Robin Vice-Chairman 252-393-3244
Cavanaugh, Bob Commissioner 252-241-6420
Wheatly, Ed Commissioner 252-241-8626